Female TMI, read at your own risk
Jul. 28th, 2007 08:37 pmI am so sick of going through my monthly, of all the mess that it causes, of having to wear pads so thick that I sound like a toddler with plastic pants on when when I walk, of said pads *STILL* finding ways to leak meaning I have to wash all my underwear/pants/skirts/bedsheets with soap so strong it takes my skin off; never mind the cramps/mood swings/everything else, that I told my mother I was going to find out if MediCare covers elective hysterectomies. She shot back that things like that are sinful and I shouldn't even think about it. I told her it wouldn't be sinful since I'm not going to have kids anyway. She shot back, "You don't know that." I came back with, "Well, the only chance I have for getting pregnant is if some guy rapes me --" which unfortunately set her off on a tizzy, even though it's true.
Guys these days want either supermodels or supermoms. I'm certainly not either one of those. How many straight men are happy to discuss art and music and literature and philosophy with a girl these days? Nada. Zero. Zilch. All I can find is Neanderthals who want to get laid or make babies or both. And the guys that I can carry on an intelligent conversation with are either twenty-year olds in Canada or gay. All the straight guys my age want baby mommies or arm ornaments.
I just want some peace of mind. The change of life cannot come fast enough for me, but I have a feeling I'll be one of those rare sorts who has their monthly up until they're *sixty*. And nobody tell me it's a blessing or any of that shite. I see it as a curse, as one more thing to make my already difficult life even more unbearable. I hope to God that part of me turns cancerous so I *HAVE* to have it taken out.
Guys these days want either supermodels or supermoms. I'm certainly not either one of those. How many straight men are happy to discuss art and music and literature and philosophy with a girl these days? Nada. Zero. Zilch. All I can find is Neanderthals who want to get laid or make babies or both. And the guys that I can carry on an intelligent conversation with are either twenty-year olds in Canada or gay. All the straight guys my age want baby mommies or arm ornaments.
I just want some peace of mind. The change of life cannot come fast enough for me, but I have a feeling I'll be one of those rare sorts who has their monthly up until they're *sixty*. And nobody tell me it's a blessing or any of that shite. I see it as a curse, as one more thing to make my already difficult life even more unbearable. I hope to God that part of me turns cancerous so I *HAVE* to have it taken out.
no subject
Date: 2007-07-29 01:43 am (UTC)What have you got to lose? Nothing. At the very least, you'll have taken a class in something interesting. You can't expect to find a man that's interested in ______, ______ or _______ if you're not around that kind of environment. It'd be great if Prince Charming were to show up in your grocery line, but honestly, what are the chances of that? YOU need to be the one that's putting yourself out there. Take a class in art or literature or philosophy! Join a book club! There must be *something* in your town- check around and see if there are any discussion groups or anything. Does your comic book store hold fan meetings or anything of the sort? GET OUT THERE.
Shit, I know I sound brusque as Hell but sometimes that's just how I have to be...I do care about you, but I think you limit yourself just a little too much.
~Ruby
no subject
Date: 2007-07-29 02:37 pm (UTC)~Weaver