matrixrefugee: the word 'refugee' in electric green with a background of green matrix code (Matrix_Refugee)
[personal profile] matrixrefugee
Long story and my typing may get vague, due to my hands shaking from fear...

I was on my way to work this morning, crossing the street to get to the store, when this old guy in a silver Honda came creeping around the corner. I was in a crosswalk. I had the pedestrian light. I had the right of way. Even still, he clipped me, knocked me to the ground and probably would have kept going if I hadn't been screaming my lungs out. He got out and I accosted him, but of course the little rat had to insist he had the right of way, before he took off.

Fortunately there was a witness, who saw more of what was going on than I could have, and I got his address. Once I got into work, I told "Sharon" in the courtesty booth what had happened and she called the police for me, so I could file a report. Three minutes later, one of our town's finest arrived and got my statement.

I'm fine. I've got a few scrapes and bruises, but I'm fine I worked the rest of the day without incident (just to keep on keeping on), other than getting a little emotional, and one of my co-workers kept telling everyone what happened.

There are people driving who shouldn't be. Please, pray that the police find and catch this man and that he is prosecuted to the full extent of the law.

Date: 2008-10-21 08:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crowdog66.livejournal.com
Oh, I'm so sorry to hear that!!! *lots of hugs*

Praying the guy gets caught and stopped. He should lose his license for something like that!

Date: 2008-10-21 09:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nightofcydonia.livejournal.com
What a git. Unfortunatly, I doubt that even if he gets done he won't be sentenced all the heavily since unfortunatly the law is an ass and no one was seriously hurt. Still, here's to hoping that they catch him (or failing that, that a certain note book starts working *grin* *wink*)
~Weaver

Date: 2008-10-21 09:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] koemiko.livejournal.com
Ackk! I'm glad you're okay...

Date: 2008-10-22 02:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladyneferankh.livejournal.com
Oh my goodness--I've had a few close calls but nothing quite that bad * hugs * I hope they catch the blasted creep. But mainly I'm just glad you're OK !

Date: 2008-10-22 03:31 am (UTC)
troisroyaumes: Painting of a duck, with the hanzi for "summer" in the top left (Default)
From: [personal profile] troisroyaumes
Urgh, I hope you're all right. And pedestrians always have the right-of-way so he's clearly in the wrong. I hope the police find him too.

Date: 2008-10-24 11:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tortillafactory.livejournal.com
Right of way? What? Probably the only thing I remember from my written permit test is that pedestrians have the right of way in all intersections at all times. Regardless, how would right of way be an excuse to mow people down?

Jeez.

April 2017

S M T W T F S
       1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 06:14 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios