matrixrefugee: the word 'refugee' in electric green with a background of green matrix code (American_Gods)
But then again, I didn't think you wanted to hear me grumbling about whiny people whining at work about prices or how it's supposed to be warm this weekend, or how one family member has been outdoing themselves whining. Yes, I know that's complaining about complaining, thus I'm avoiding any further discussion on that subject.

Busy at work lately: the store in Andover has closed for renovations, so the customers from there have been coming to my store. Good for me in that I'm getting more hours, but bad in that it's been busier (also due to the holiday this weekend).

Finished reading "Boy in Darkness": I can see why some people would interpret it as an allegory against organized religion, or fascism, but I think it's also another case of Completely Missing the Point, since Peake (like Tolkien) was more about telling a good story than about applying any Deep Meaning to it. The style is a bit different from that of the main series, but that's likely to be expected.

Also, the TV Tropes page on Gormenghast makes me want to rage. Yes, I agree, there's a certain element of Draco in Leather Pants in the fandom (or directed towards one anti-villain in particular...), and yes, a certain casting choice in the mini-series is responsible for this, however before you bitch about Steerpike's Freudian Excuses, please re-read a certain relevant passage in the books, which I've pointed out in an earlier posting. Also... have we read the same books? The series is about as gloomy as an Edward Gorey drawing (why so serious, fandom?). And yes, there was Creator Breakdown, however, it wasn't just Parkinson's Disease that caused it, but also a form of encephalitis that had, it seemed, lain dormant in Mervyn Peake's system for years (probably contracted when he was growing up in China), hence why he seemed to lose control of the writing on the third book. And no, "Boy in Darkness" is not set between the first two books, since Titus is described as being about age twelve or fourteen in it, while he's age six or seven at the start of the second book (either that, or he's one glib seven year old, considering how he fast-talks the Goat and the Hyena, and how obsequious he is to the Lamb).

Though I did learn something interesting from the TV Tropes page: it seems that Peake had planned a volume dealing with an interregnum at Gormenghast, in which Dr. Prunesquallor becomes the Countess's right-hand man, which only raises Prune even more in my esteem.
matrixrefugee: the word 'refugee' in electric green with a background of green matrix code (Snow trees)
I had planned to go out today and make my at-most-twice-a-month trip to the Burlington Barnes & Noble, but considering the extreme wind chills today and the fact that I was up till the wee hours last night typing one fanfiction, writing another and watching anime (not necessarily in that order or all at once, either), I decided to stay home today. So I've been curled up under the covers of my bed writing and reading. I won't say I'm mildly stuck on the 12 Days of Fanfic challenge, but I think I need a mini-break from it, though that means I may need to double up some days or let the challenge run over the time limit, which I hope people will understand.

Also, my mind seems to be cranking out stuff for anything but the 12 Days fics today, including a passage for a decidedly dark Yami no Matsuei fic that's presented itself to me. Lj cut for teal deers )

Aaaand my request to join An Archive of Our Own has been accepted: http://archiveofourown.org/users/matrixrefugee. So far all I have on there are the two YnM fics, but I'm working on importing more of the ff.n fics.
matrixrefugee: the word 'refugee' in electric green with a background of green matrix code ("Enniel Prussot")
While making a random search for Yami no Matsuei fanarts, I ran across a bizarre thread on the infamous twilightsucks.com forum (the one I had to leave five minutes after I signed up, because the antis on it were as rabid as the fanggurls), I ran across a thread in which someone pretty much compared Muraki to Edward.

:: Brain goes splodey as she emits a wail of disgust and protestation ::

That isn't even comparing apples to oranges, that's comparing bright, shiny Enza apples (the kind that draw all the shinigami for miles around) that just ooze with juice when you bite into them to under-developed oranges with deep grooves on them where a twig was rubbing on the skin.

Cut for fan-rantage and potential spoilers for the manga )
matrixrefugee: the word 'refugee' in electric green with a background of green matrix code (Integra)
My one wish this Christmas? That the U.S. copyright laws on fiction and fanfiction would get replaced with the Japanese copyright laws re: same.

There's a discussion on [livejournal.com profile] lkh_lashouts re: LKH and fanfiction. Now, while I understand why some authors would have "no fanfic plz" clauses in their contracts or have made public statements to that effect, but... I find it annoying when someone who isn't that author decides to be the Fanfic Police and do a "no fanfic plz" on other people. Might be a backlash from the debacle with Lee Goldberg on the original Orange Board version of Godawful Fanfiction, where the guy castigated all of us for being fans of fanfiction and attacked me for my "A.I.: Artificial Intelligence" fics. You could tell the guy had no teeth in his arguments when he yelled at me because I'd written Gigolo Joe as a male prostitute. Duh! Anyone who's watched the movie would know I was in the right because, well, as the green-eyed silicon hottie would say, "It's what I do." ( :: Pauses a moment to chase off a plot bunny for an "A.I."/Evangelion crossover:: Joe/Ritsuko might be really cute and Ritsy-poo might be less bitchy afterward [plus I could totally see her hiring our silicon hottie to try and make Gendo jealous, but we know how badly that would backfire...], but I don't need any more ideas...)

The case at hand: a middle-school teacher saying there is a "no fanfic plz" clause in their classroom, the poster's argument being that it's to protect the kids from plagiarism suits. I think after the file-sharing debacle in which RIAA went batshit on middle-school kids, no lawyer in their right mind would do something like that, if they didn't want the press to do the same thing to them, and make them and their client look like bullies shaking kids down for their lunch money (the case where RIAA tried to get CPS to slap an "unfit parent" charge on the single mom of one kid was an all-time low; thankfully, CPS turned around and said, "What are you talking about? This kid is doing just fine, now stop wasting our time when we could have been saving kids from being molested."). This could have it's upside: it could be protecting us from yet another bumper crop of bad Twhinelight fanfic, but I can't help seeing a lot of kids being denied a pastime that I find dear to my heart. Maybe a "don't ask, don't tell" policy ala Jim Butcher's take on it would be a good compromise.
matrixrefugee: the word 'refugee' in electric green with a background of green matrix code (Christianity as a fandom)
(Based on a post which I previously made on the blog on my page at MyAnimeList.com and inspired by a lovely post by [livejournal.com profile] metisbutterfly

I'm an admitted recovering "canon fascist", though I'm getting over the fascism (aside from slinging the axe at horribly warped characterization) and even using the term "canon" entirely After a discussion with a friend, I've started to stop using the term "canon" when I'm talking about a series or whatnot that intrigues me and use the word "mythos" instead (hey, it worked for H.P.Lovecraft...). I've gotten a bad taste in my mouth at the word "canon", since it smacks of treating a series like a religious text and woe betide the person with a different than the majority's POV on what it means. Case in point some of the screaming bile-fests I've witnessed over minutiae in Evangelion. It's as bad as watching people get into froth at the mouth bitch-fests about the minutiae of religion. It's taking something that's supposed to give meaning to one's life (in the case of religion) or to provide a little entertainment and food for thought (in the case of fandom) and turning it into yet another weapon to bash the next person with.

I've said it before in a voice post: One of the things that galls me the most about the Evangelion fandom are the hard-core "keepers of the canon", who slam any newcomer to the fandom who has some out of the ordinary take on the meaning of :: Insert minutiae of choice:: and points to some evidence from a document that's generally available only in Japanese. There are times I have to walk away from the Eva Geeks board when some of the old-timers start going on about the "glaring inaccuracies" in the commentary on some of the DVDs (Okay, some of the statements I don't agree with, but I'm not about to get my shirt in a knot over it) or when they start taking pot-shots at the producers' up to an including comments about their intelligence level, mental health or appearances (all right, yeah, Matt Greenfield [the producer for the Englush dub version] could stand to lose some weight, but we're not all exactly going to model statues of Greek deities, either). I swear that there are so many different continuities in Evangelion because Hideaki Anno gets a jag out of yanking the "canon keepers'" chains (and hey, after he got the death-threats over the way the TV anime ended, he has every right to a few well-aimed Take That's, starting with End of Evangelion's clip with the flashing screenshots of the death threat emails/threatening graffiti in the entryway of Gainax's main office). I swear the man agreed to having so many continuities on one series just to defy the "WUN TWOO CANNON!1111" mentality, and if/when he hears the screaming bitch-fests over what's canon and what isn't, he starts laughing his toushe off (that and I think he comes up with unsettling pairings just to twit the 'shippers: the fic I wrote where Ritsuko puts the moves on Fuyutsuki was not an original idea of mine...).

But the one fandom bile-inducer that bugs me the most, at least among anime fandoms: the subs vs. dubs debate. I made the mistake of putting my foot into one discussion, and I swear I would have had my leg bitten off and gotten beaten senseless with it if I hadn't backpedaled out of it pronto. Riffing from my icon, it reminds me, as a cradle Catholic who's attended Masses in Latin and in English, of the verbal brawls raged over whether the Mass should be offered in Latin or in the vernacular of the country where the Mass is being offered. Personally, I'm a dub-fan, either way, though I do appreciate the stateliness of the Mass in Latin, and I agree, something does tend to get lost in translation, whether it's the Mass or an anime. I took a little Latin in high school, so I'm able to get the gist of the Mass in Latin, but I know only about five to eight in words in Japanese, plus, I get dizzy trying to follow the text on screen as well as what's going on (especially if it's a very kinetic series). I think I could watch a subbed series only if it was something I was familiar with (and at this point, that would have to be Evangelion, since I've watched the dub about... three or four times).
matrixrefugee: the word 'refugee' in electric green with a background of green matrix code ("Enniel Prussot")
Today, Sept. 29th is the Catholic feast of the Holy Angels, plus it's also a Tuesday, which is traditionally the day of the angels... and I got my book on the Grigori or Watcher Angels in the mail! Just a coincidence? I don't think so...

Also: Another GIP, this time featuring my "Enniel Prussot" icon (Yes, yes, it's Muraki from 'Yami no Matsuei', but since the image fits I'm running with it).

Also there's a bit of an argument brewing over on the Eva Geeks forum, when someone decided to start tossing around some ideas on whether or not an Angel in human form could impregnate a human. One person got irritated about how an idea like this strays from canon (Like some of the weird things that have been posted in the section for fanfiction and fanart don't?!). Of course I stuck up for discussing this very topic (hey, it's one of the cornerstones of the third part of my current project), as well as being a bit suspect of the term "canon": the more I think about it, the less I like it, since it smacks of treating the fandom (or maybe the mythos is a better word for it) like a religious dogma or a sacred text that has to be rigidly adhered to and any other slant on it is heretical. I paraphrased a few lines from Shinji's inner journey in Episode 20:

"There is the Evangelion that exists in Hideaki Anno's mind, the Evangelion that exists in the producers' minds, the Evangelion that exists in the Eva Geeks' minds and the Evangelion that exists in your mind. Yet somehow, all these are the same Evangelion."

April 2017

S M T W T F S
       1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:08 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios